2014 Yearly Roundup

Hey everyone! It’s been a while since I’ve updated the blog (I seriously need to do better) but I’m here for what seems to be my yearly update. You know I said this before but since I’m not really working with the studios anymore and working with indie films there isn’t much to really update because the films I work on take much longer to come out.

Ben N Ara collageBut with that said, I have two new films that I can actually talk about that I shot this year. The first one was in Hinesville/Savannah, GA called “Ben & Ara“. This was a great project and a somewhat different experience. The state of Georgia recently got the film tax incentives and man did Georgia show up for this project! They rolled out the red carpet in order for this project to even happen and even gave us an awesome wrap party. The crew involved with this project was awesome and really showed southern hospitality through the duration of this project. From the Producers (Samone Norsworthy, Joeseph Baird & Constance Ejuma) to our Director Nnegest Likke and the rest of the crew. Everyone was really great and a joy to work with.

This project also just launched an Indiegogo page. We need to raise funds to complete post-production, which involves editing, sound, music and color correction. Without these things we don’t have a movie, and without your help, we’ll have a pretty difficult time making this dream a reality. No amount is too small so we welcome any and all donations.

Press: WSAV Southern Scene also came to set one day to cover the film.

4 Grandpa's Psycho's collageAnd the other film, I reconnected with director Danny LaGare (“Suicide for Beginners”) in Connecticut for “Grandpa’s Psycho“. The film is a dark and gritty psychological thriller that explores one small town man’s need to purify the world of sin, one sinner at a time. His medieval and brutal cleansing process directly contradicts the devotion he has for his granddaughter. Tension builds as we discover secrets surrounding the psychotic behavior of this quaint god fearing little town. and shot what turned out to be probably my favorite movie I have ever been apart of, besides the cold temperatures. Everything just seemed to worked out artistically for this project. From what I saw from the raw images on the directors monitor, to actors and crew, it just worked. Even when it snowed, we just got rid of the snow and continued. Of course there those days that were tough but we finished and I can’t wait for you guys to see these projects.

In other news: 

Love Letter CollageI worked on another film a couple of years ago with a working title called “Love Letter” in Wilmington, NC. Well that project has recently announced a title change to the project as well as actually picture locking the film as well. I wasn’t there for the pick up days but I’m glad they finished the project. This project as well has the possibility to be a great movie. Oh and the new title is “Suicide For Beginners“. Once I get some more information on the film, I will be sure to update the page.

new Room 105 CollageAnother film that I worked on in Missouri (Room 105) recently announced that they locked the final edit and colored the film. Last time I talked with Doug Fox, Producer of the film, is still in the process of either getting distribution for the film or entering film festivals. I have to call him again and update that information. But I am excited to see the final edit of this film. I’ve been really lucky to work with some great filmmakers over the past couple of years and this project had a great team involved with it as well. Below are a couple of links for some press the film has gotten since we’ve wrapped production.

Press:

TheWrap.com

Indiewire.com 

Zacuto Blackmagic Gear Review

That’s everything I have right now that I can spill the beans on. I look forward to a productive 2015. I already have a couple of projects lined up. Hopefully everything goes through and I can work on those projects. Also, If you need any pre production work as far as breaking down scripts check out my Breakdown Services Page. I do this all the time and have all the tools necessary to get your film from script to production schedule. Lets Work! Until the next update be great and MAKE MOVIES!!

Add me on Staff Me Up! Let’s network and get to work!

~Douglas

Leave a Reply

